There are three things that are inexpensive in Ghana; labor, beer, and haircuts (if you go to the right place). Now pardon me while I digress. The other night I had a dream that I was nearly bald, just one remaining patch of hair near the top of my head. I wake up with tremendous anxiety, touch my pate and breathe a sigh of relief. The truth is that my head more closely resembles that of a primate than of a 52 year old. I thank my lucky stars every day that I inherited the hair gene from my father’s side of the family. Anyway, I need a haircut every six weeks because it piles up rather quickly and I begin to look too much like Lyle Lovett. To complicate matters, most of the white guys here just get their heads shaved, not because they’re Buddhists, but because it is easier. I, on the other hand, have too much ego invested in my hair.

The Fancy Place

So I have to make a choice, go to the Swish salon or find a local barber. Well, Swish is out– bad name and high prices.

I decide to take a chance and walk over to “Young Blacks Barber Shop”. They aren’t sure what to do with me when I sit down in the queue, but one young barber takes the bait and gives me a fine haircut for 3 CEDIS ($2) !!!

Now, that is something to crow about…

youngblacks

My kind of place

